Amman Institute

Panoramic rooftop view of Amman from Jabal Al-Lweibdeh.

The CBRL Amman Institute exists as a scholarly community offering facilities, support and advice to local and visiting researchers and members of the public, providing a venue for thought, critical reflection, and knowledge exchange.

In March 2022, the Institute moved to new premises on Jabal Al-Lweibdeh.

The Institute and its library is now open by appointment, please write to

Founded initially as a field base for visiting archaeologists, it became the British Institute at Amman for Archaeology and History (BIAAH) between 1978 and 1998. In 1998, the institute was incorporated into the Council for British Research in the Levant (CBRL), supporting research in the full spectrum of the humanities and social sciences. Between 2009 and 2021, it commonly used the name the ‘British Institute in Amman’, echoing its original name and continued local use. In 2022, following a rebranding, the name CBRL Amman Institute is now used.

CBRL in Jordan is registered as a branch of a foreign society with the Ministry of Culture. Our patron is HRH Prince Hassan bin Talal. Since 2009, we have held formal ties with the Royal Scientific Society, founded by HRH Prince Hassan to promote academic, scientific and technological activities related to education and training in Jordan. HRH Princess Sumaya bint El Hassan has an interest in the institute’s activities and has served as patron on a number of initiatives, most notably the Wadi Faynan Project.

The CBRL Amman Institute can be contacted at the following email address:

Directors of the BIAAH (1978-98), CBRL (1999 onwards) and British Institute in Amman/Amman Institute (2009 onwards)

  • Carol Palmer (2009-present as Director of the British Institute in Amman, from 2020 also as CBRL Director)
  • Bill Finlayson (1999-2018, CBRL Director)
  • Alison McQuitty (1994-1999, from 1998 as CBRL Director)
  • William Lancaster (1991-1994)
  • Alison McQuitty (1989-1991)
  • Andrew Garrard (1983-1989)
  • Crystal-M. Bennett (1978-1983, Founding Director)